top of page

Rest


For thus said the Lord God, the Holy One of Israel, “In returning and rest you shall be saved;

in quietness and in trust shall be your strength.”

Isaiah 30:15

Rest is one of those words that tends to have a polarizing affect. Some people nod there heads and agree, rest is good. Some people shake their heads saying how they don't have time to rest. Some people might just tilt their heads and look at you as if you spoke in an alien language.

The idea of rest is as old as the Scriptures; God commanded His people to rest frequently. Over and over you can hear the loving Father's plea:

"Be still and know that I am God." Psalm 46:10

"My people shall be satisfied with my goodness," declares the Lord. "For I will satisfy the weary soul, and every languishing soul I will replenish.” Jeremiah 31:14, 25

He is inviting us to be still and know His heart. To rest in Him and let all that He is to satisfy the yearnings of our soul. He promises that if we come to Him He will give us rest.

I enjoy reading differnet translations of my favorite Scriptures becasue it oftens gives me a refreshing way to recieve God's Word and frames it in a different way so that the Spirit may wisper His secret words to me in a new way. Here is Psalm 23, a well known and beloved Psalm in The Voice Translation.

Psalm 23

1 The Eternal is my shepherd, He cares for me always. 2 He provides me rest in rich, green fields beside streams of refreshing water. He soothes my fears; 3 He makes me whole again, steering me off worn, hard paths to roads where truth and righteousness echo His name.

4 Even in the unending shadows of death’s darkness, I am not overcome by fear. Because You are with me in those dark moments, near with Your protection and guidance, I am comforted.

5 You spread out a table before me, provisions in the midst of attack from my enemies; You care for all my needs, anointing my head with soothing, fragrant oil, filling my cup again and again with Your grace. 6 Certainly Your faithful protection and loving provision will pursue me where I go, always, everywhere. I will always be with the Eternal, in Your house forever.

This lifts up my soul so gretaly that my heart cries out:

The Eternal is the source of my strength and the shield that guards me. When I learn to rest and truly trust Him, He sends His help. This is why my heart is singing! I open my mouth to praise Him, and thankfulness rises as song.

Psalm 28:7

Jesus has already done all the work of rightesousness and provided all we need for salvtion and adoption as God's children. Our work now is to believe in Him. (See John 6:29)

So test your heart. Do you beilieve that Jesus really is enough for salvation and for your life on this earth? Do you really believe that you can rest in Him and let God hold you and care for you?

There is still work to be done. Yes, while we wait for Jesus to return we work to build His Kingdom and prasies. There are never ending lists of things to be done just to maintain life on this earth. Yes, this is all true.

But in the midst of your everyday, what is your center? What do you gravitate towards when you are weary? Is it to the One Who loves you? Check your heart and go to Jesus. Ask Him to help you rest in Him today. Take a few minutes this week and just sit with Jesus. Ask Him to fill you with His love. Then sit back and be still and quiet and just rest in His all encompassing, never-ending, forever and always love!!!

Sending Hope for a Rest filled day,

Tessy

Note on the photo: This is a picture of my daughter Grace when she was a newborn. Newborn babies are beautiful examples of how when we simply trust and rest, our loving Father in Heaven will always take good care of us!

Here is one of my favorite hymns "Jesus I Am Resting, Resting." This version is sung by Sarah Lacy in a beautiful cletic rendition.


bottom of page